Of Facebook and shoe shots

Posted on March 8, 2009

1


IMG_1275 copy

I admit that my life too revolves around Facebook. I spend hours each day thinking of what to do so that I could update my status accordingly. I take photos when I go out and I can’t wait to upload them onto my Photo Album. The first thing I do upon waking up and the last thing I do before going to bed is to check up the photos and profiles of friends I barely speak to and read up gossip on friends of friends I’ve never met.

There are certain things I don’t do. I don’t (or at least haven’t) taken up on the trend of writing “25 Things About Me” and tagging my friends onto it, not because I’m not full of myself, but because I can’t think of that many things about me that’s interesting enough to attract readership, even among my closest buddies. Another trend is of friends taking photos of themselves jumping, especially in tourist areas. I admit the impression of being levitated may at first appear fascinating, but the novelty soon wears off after the other 275 friends also pose the same way.

And yet another is of girls taking photos of their shoes, usually rounded up in a circle after a big night out or a shopping spree. I don’t really get why shoes are of particular interest, but I thought I’d try it anyhow, and so I took the picture above, during a recent brunch with some close friends at a nearby café. Needless to say this too, ended up on Facebook.

Posted in: Culture